What is  AVID?

 

Advancement Via Individual Determination



Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) is a global nonprofit organization that operates with one guiding principle: hold students accountable to the highest standards; provide academic and social support; and they will rise to the challenge. AVID’s kindergarten through higher education system brings research-based curriculum and strategies to students each day that develop critical thinking, literacy, and math skills across all content areas.

For more information about AVID ​visit  AVID.org.
 

What is  AVID Elementary?

AVID Elementary is a system of rigorous curriculum and strategic support so ALL students can be academically successful.  AVID Elementary is a foundational component of the AVID College Readiness System and supports a vision to provide a comprehensive model of success for ALL students, from elementary through higher education.

Benefits of AVID Elementary Schoolwide include…

  • Schoolwide site goals and expectations for all grade levels

  • Collaboration across grade levels

  • Parent events and awareness programs to promote a college going culture

  • College readiness expectations and atmosphere schoolwide

AVID Elementary Sites

Palmcroft Elementary School
Jennette Arviso, Principal jarviso1@yuma.org   
Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 2.00.18 PM.png

Pecan Grove Elementary

School                     

Nicole Wilhelmy, Principal
nwilhelmy@yuma.org
DOROTHY HALL SHIELD AND KIDS.png

Dorothy Hall Elementary

School                     

Leeanne Lagunas, Principal
llaguans@yuma.org
Screen Shot 2019-09-04 at 11.46.26 AM.pn

O C Johnson Elementary

School                     

Angela Logan, Principal
alogan@yuma.org
James Rolle Elementary School        
Elizabeth Angulo, Principal
eangulo@yuma.org

G. W. Carver Elementary

School                     

Matthew Buckley, Principal
mbuckley@yuma.org
Screen Shot 2019-09-04 at 11.49.26 AM.pn

Roosevelt Elementary

School                     

Sofia Ramirez, Principal
sramirez@yuma.org
McGraw logo.png

C. W. McGraw Elementary

School                     

Adair Garcia, Principal

agarcia@yuma.org

What to look for in an AVID Elementary Classroom…

  • Student EMPOWERMENT through daily use of binders, planners and goal-setting

  • All students using note-taking strategies

  • Teachers and students engaged in higher levels of questioning and thinking

  • Challenging lessons appropriate for each student

  • Using team building and collaboration to strengthen academic language

  • WICOR Lessons- Lesson that include  Writing to Learn, Inquiry, Collaboration, Organization, Reading to Learn

AVID Elementary School Videos!